September 29


Arctic Lake EP ‘How Do You Make It Look So Easy’ Out October 27

By RawKeith

September 29, 2023

Arctic Lake

Arctic Lake – composed of vocalist Emma Foster and multi-instrumentalist/producer Paul Holliman – will release their new EP, How Do You Make It Look So Easy, on October 20 via Astralwerks. Pre-save the EP HERE and see below for track listing. Today, the London-based duo shared their new single, “Hold Me,” a breathtaking, nuanced look at the changing tides in a relationship. The pair wrote and recorded the track while they were in the U.S. last year. Listen to “Hold Me” HERE and watch the visualizer below.

To celebrate the release of How Do You Make It Look So Easy, Arctic Lake will embark on a U.K. tour. The headline run will commence with a November 22 show at The Grace in London and wrap up on December 1 at YES in Manchester. Tickets are available HERE.

How Do You Make It Look So Easy finds the duo harnessing the experimentation of last year’s side by side we lie awake and finessing it into a version that feels truly Arctic Lake. As Paul Holliman explains, “Now it’s us saying, 'We can do what we want but it all has to exist in the same world.’ There’s some pretty upbeat stuff but the lyrics are consistent. We took away all the rules but now we’re putting a few of them back in.” Their niche of emotive, intimate, expansive yet earwormy alternative pop has increasingly cemented itself.

“Loneliness and want and rejection and desire: we just wanna talk about the stuff that happens to people, that matters and that they can connect to,” says Emma Foster. 

Over the course of 2023, Arctic Lake has offered tantalizing glimpses of the EP including most recently

“Fool.” Rollacoaster said, “Lamenting a universally held habit of feeling unable to let go of love even when it’s hurting us, ‘Fool’ is not only a simmering soundscape but also a cautionary tale that binds together those who feel lost, allowing space to feel those hard-to-face feelings.” The Honey Pop said, “‘Silver Pendant’ is an ethereal alt-pop anthem about infatuation…a twinkling track with delightful lyrics paired with beautifully gorgeous vocals.” Wonderland Magazine praised “Are You Okay?” as “soul-drenched, evoking and immersive” and Popdust observed, “When it comes to making a heartfelt, soulful track, Arctic Lake are somewhat geniuses.”

Their intimate alt-pop is a study in the art of baring it all. Vulnerability has become Arctic Lake’s most potent weapon—the foundation for the poignant, provocative synth-laced landscapes heard in their debut single “Limits” and a moody, majestic string of EPs that include Closer, What You May Find, See Inside and 2022’s side by side we lie awake, which Atwood Magazine praised as a “shiver-inducing collection of stirring alt-pop ready to break our hearts and mend our souls.” Arctic Lake has also scored hit collaborations with producers like ZHU (“Yours”), German DJ Boris Brejcha (“House Music”) and Lane 8 (“Road,” What Have You Done To Me?”).

Track Listing – How Do You Make It Look So Easy

1. Fireflies

2. Silver Pendant

3. Interlude

4. Fool

5. My Weakness

6. Hold Me

7. Are You Okay?


Arctic Lake – UK Tour Dates


22 - The Grace - London

23 - Patterns - Brighton

24 - Dareshack - Bristol

29 - Oporto - Leeds

30 - The Poetry Club - Glasgow


1 - YES - Manchester

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}