August 26


Mae Muller ‘MTJL’ – WATCH

By RawKeith

August 26, 2023

Mae Muller

Globally adored British pop star Mae Muller shares new track and video, “MTJL.” The introspective ballad is featured on Mae’s long-awaited full-length debut album, Sorry I'm Lateout September 15th via Capitol Records and available now for pre-order.  Download/stream “MTJL” here.

 The openly emotional ballad finds Mae musing over her vulnerabilities and insecurities, and then ultimately reconciles; “Maybe that’s just life.” Stripping everything back to just the simplicity of her vocal and an acoustic guitar.

Of “MTJL”, Mae says, “I think it was really important for me to have a moment where it was just going to be really stripped-back, just me and a guitar. I just wanted it to be a diary entry – I wasn’t worried about the usual verse, pre-chorus, chorus structure of the song as such, I just wanted to get it off my chest. I feel like as humans we’re very good at being hard on ourselves and we all want what we can’t have, so this track was just a big outpouring of all my insecurities. I definitely have a lot but I’m learning to accept them, it’s what makes us human. I think this is probably the best song I’ve written lyrically, and I’m very proud of it.” 

In addition to Mae’s recent single, "Me, Myself & I" and smash hit “Better Days” (a platinum-certified collaboration with NEIKED and Polo G), Sorry I’m Late includes past hits like I Just Came To Dance and “I Wrote A Song” — a high-energy anthem that became the No. 1 trending song in the UK and shot to No. 9 on the UK Singles Chart after Mae represented the UK in the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest.  Sorry I’m Late is a message to fans who have stuck by her during a period of growth and self-discovery. The album strikes an unforgettable balance of soulful vulnerability and exhilarating confidence. The 25-year-old North London native opens up about all the love and loss she’s experienced in recent years, infusing every song with her strong-minded yet irresistibly playful point of view. And while Sorry I’m Late unfolds with a lived-in intimacy and enthralling specificity, Maecaptures so many of the frustrations and tensions shared by her generation. The result: a wildly cathartic celebration of today’s young women and all their infinite complexity.

The album marks the follow-up to Mae’s Capitol Records debut EP no one else, not even you: a critically lauded 2020 project including standouts like “Dependent” (named one of Billboard's 30 Best Pop Songs of 2020). Muller’ssongs have amassed over 2.7 billion streams globally.

Tracklist for Sorry I’m Late by Mae Muller

1. I Just Came To Dance

2. Sorry Daniel

3. Bitch With A Broken Heart

4. I Wrote A Song

5. Me, Myself & I

6. Tatiana (feat. Dylan)

7. Somebody New

8. I Wish I Could Hate You

9. Little Bit Sad

10. MTJL

11. Breathe

12. Something Real

13. Nervous (In A Good Way)

14. Better Days (NEIKED x Mae Muller x Polo G)

15. Porn Lied To Us

16. Miss America

17. Written By A Woman

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}