October 20


Poolside Album ‘Blame It All On Love’ Out Now

By RawKeith

October 20, 2023


Poolside, the recording project of producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Jeffrey Paradise, releases his new album Blame It All On Love today, October 20, via Ninja Tune imprint Counter Records.

“I’ve spent 15 years being like, ‘fuck your rules,’ and I finally feel like I'm not trying to prove anything or anyone wrong,” Paradise says. “It’s just pure, unfiltered expression, and that’s why I’m really excited about this record.”

On Poolside’s fourth studio album Blame It All On Love, Paradise leaves the shallows and enters the depths of his own creative voice. Its 11 tracks are funky, soulful, laidback and full of hooks that elevate Poolside’s sound to poignant pop heights. Rather than flex his electronic muscles, the production marks a return to his live music roots and finds ease in simple and radiant layers of sound, even as it comes face-to-face with the complex reality of one’s dreams come true. It’s a true product of everywhere he’s been and the long and winding journey he’s taken to arrive at this moment where there’s nothing left to fight or prove, just perfect grooves.

From the seductive swing of opener “Ride With You” written with Cut Copy’s Ben Browning to synth-laden sing-alongs of “Moonlight” and “Ventura Highway Blues” featuring Life On Planets, the half-time emotional grandeur of lead single “Each Night” with Mazy, and the retro-drenched lofi ballads “Lonely Night" with Munya and “Hold On To You” with Slenderbodies, Blame It All On Loveincorporates all the sweet things that make a straight-up, easy to love song and blends it with romantic melancholy.

Following the announcement of his signing with Counter Records in May, Poolside first released “Each Night,” which Billboard stated “…evokes the maximalist bliss of ‘Good Vibrations’ era Beach Boys with a lush layer of slow-rolling synth that washes over your ears like a warm bath, or perhaps a well-heated pool.” Since then, Poolside continued to roll out various songs and videos from the album, in between major festival plays at Lollapalooza, Outside Lands, FORMAT, Austin City Limits and tour dates around the southeast. Next up on the touring front, Poolside heads to Mexico for Tropico Festival. Joining Poolside’s Jeffrey Paradise--who can be found on guitar / vocals / synths in the live sets--is Vito Roccoforte (The Rapture / Body Music) on drums, Mattie Safer (The Rapture / Lovetempo) on bass / vocals, Casey Butler (Pharaohs) on saxophone / lap steel / percussion / vocals and Alton San Giovanni (Alton Allen) – guitar / vocals. Look for more shows from Poolside to come in 2024.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}